The Power of Community

Bill & Sons, Trent and Trevor

Bill & Sons, Trent and Trevor

The Power of Community

This is the unofficial official last word on Sage Summit 2013. A lot of positives have been written about this year’s conference. I’ve heard very little negative and its success is due to the work of the entire Event team. As of this writing they’re already meeting to plan for next year’s invasion of Sin City, Las Vegas!

Even though the doctors have told me not to plan out that far it’s my goal to be in Las Vegas next year enjoying what has long become my favorite conference. As my doctor told me she’s been wrong 100% of the time, there is something to be said for consistency.

It was very evident to me this past Summit that the group that I started in May of 2008 passed the group status and now sits comfortably on its own as a community. The difference you ask?

The first point is that groups are managed while communities are nurtured.
A ‘group’ has a connotation of people being put together, where a ‘community’ has a connotation that individuals have come togetheron their own.
Is your group perceived as a benefit to its members?
Does your group keep your members engaged and interested?

Let me give you a couple of examples why I think the LinkedIn Group is a community.

Because of my cancer I haven’t been able to earn what I need to cover my monthly expenses, so I had made the decision not to attend. Summit. In May I received an email from Joe Noll, ‎President at RKL eSolutions LLC in Lancaster PA. In his email he offered to pay for my registration, airfare and hotel costs. I have never communicated with Joe in any form. I was dumbfounded. When I asked him why he was doing this his answer “for all that I’ve done and continue to do for the Sage Community”

My registration was covered by Sage, thanks Ed Kless and to top things off Dave Knorr, Renee Knorr & Cheryl Masseth sent me a check for consulting services that were marginal at best.Bill Sean Tess BorosBill Diana Peter

All the “best of health” wishes, kind words, hugs, finally meeting Sarah Michel, who is the impetus behind this blog; Joe Ward, spending time with Wayne Schulz, Robert Wood, Diana Waterman and many others.

A community band together in times of need helps those that need the help. I’m sure there are other stories out there like mine. The truth is, I had too much pride to publicize my situation and I know I’m not the only one. How can people help if they don’t know? There is a community all around you know that will help. Use it when need and more important help those that need your help.

My only wish for this community after I’m gone is that it retains its sense of a community and continues to grow by attracting quality members.
Pascal Bill Cannons
Hope to see you all In Las Vegas

2 thoughts on “The Power of Community

  1. Bill…you know I loved this post 🙂 Thanks for writing it so elequently. Here’s one of my favorite quotes I keep on my desk as a daily reminder;
    “Call it a clan, Call it a network, Call it a tribe, Call it a family. Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one.”
    -Jane Howard
    I love you buddy! Keep looking up!!!!
    Sarah

Leave a comment