Never Ask a Cancer Patient This……….

imagesCA9SJYSA

I’ve heard strange questions or statements from people about being diagnosed with cancer. The following statement takes the “Heres Your Sign” Award for September. Let me know if you heard something better.

I ran into a friend at the grocery store a couple of weeks ago who I’ve haven’t seen in a couple of years. He said that he had heard that I had terminal cancer, I confirmed the rumor to which he replied “So when are you going to die?”

I think that this question falls under the heading of ignorant. I’m still stable & kicking.

Remember that no matter how Peter Bill Waynebad your life may seem at the       time there is always someone else who’s life is worse and your life will get better

the doctors continue to tell me that I’m stable

.

Bill

10 thoughts on “Never Ask a Cancer Patient This……….

    • Sarah, I wish I could say that it was one of my wittier comments. some days people catch me on an off day and I believe that most people want to mean well. Thanks for your comment, hope you’re doing well.

    • Ed, that’s a great response and I wish that I had thought of it. I normally respond that we’re all dying and I look at my situation as a blessing because it’s given me the opportunity to take care of some things before I leave this Earth.

      Thanks again for your response.

  1. I imagine any of the people who follow your posts would be a bit amused by such an ignorant and insensitive inquiry, but few would need to learn anything from it. I’ve read quite a few of the posts from followers, and all have been sensitive and supportive, which thankfully is the majority.
    I’ll echo Ed’s comments, in that you “know not the day, nor the hour”.
    Until then, breathe deeply, take in all the colour around you, and never stop teaching your sons how to be better men.

    • Thanks Ken. Normally i take comments from people and realize that they really don’t know what to say. Iiked Ed’s response also. Yours is top shelf. Thanks for your participation.

  2. Bill, I don’t know you personally, but I have prayed for you & I have been blessed by your insights. I am grateful to hear you are stable. Remember “you are a gift to those of us who follow you”.

Leave a comment